Photo of Sorcha, addiction peer coach in Colorado Springs, CO

Sorcha (she/her)

Coach, Colorado Springs

Sorcha grew up with a genetic condition and was told she wouldn’t live past the age of 18. She started using drugs to numb her pain after the loss of her grandmother. Today, she relies on movement and self-care to stay present and live holistically.

Coach type: Person with addiction and loved ones

Coaching since: 2023

Lived experience:
I was diagnosed with cystic fibrosis when I was very young. My childhood was centered around my medical issues – hospitals, surgeries, medications, nearly dying – and all the trauma that included. My grandma, who raised me, wanted me to experience as much as I could. She made sure I had good connections and put me in all sorts of activities. But every time I got to the point where I enjoyed something and was confident it, like dance or choir, I’d get sick, go to the hospital and end up quitting because I missed too many practices or performances. It led to very self-limiting beliefs. When my grandma got diagnosed with cancer, I suddenly became the caregiver. After she passed away, I lost my reason for living. I started taking her pain medication and started a years-long cycle of marijuana use. It took a long time for me to look at my mental health and develop healthier coping skills. Movement and nutrition are foundational to my wellness now.

I also have experience as an impacted loved one, primarily through romantic relationships I’ve had.

Professional background:
I’ve worked a few different roles in the medical administration but always found myself wanting to help people in a more holistic way. I’ve also been a caregiver with a variety of different physical and mental conditions. I became a part-time health and wellness coach in 2021, which was a great fit for me. I have a lot of foundational health knowledge and I really like working with people one-on-one.

Nutrition, exercise, mental health, self-care, medical and relationship trauma

I love hiking, exercising at the gym, jujutsu – really any kind of movement. I do my best to experience life and spend quality time with loved ones. And I’m starting to get more into some of my old hobbies, like music, writing and art. I also enjoy cooking, making beauty products and reading.

Our coaches